Blogs > Nascar: Beyond the Track

Find out what's really going on in NASCAR. Look here to find out why your driver really lost his ride, or the real reason those two drivers can't stand each other. Learn about the hidden motives and reasons for the things that happen in NASCAR, from the drivers to the team owners.

Thursday, August 30, 2012

Cup, Nationwide and Truck series notes heading into this weekend's races at Atlanta

Sprint Cup notes
— With Paul Menard’s 10th-place finish last Saturday at Bristol, Richard Childress Racing reached 900 NSCS top 10s.
— Roush Fenway Racing is two top-five finishes away from reaching 600 series top fives.
— Denny Hamlin’s win at Bristol was No. 98 for Joe Gibbs Racing.
— Hamlin was the 11th consecutive different winner dating to June 10 at Pocono Raceway.
— Danica Patrick makes her first NSCS visit to Atlanta on Sunday. She joins Janet Guthrie and Shawna Robinson as the only females to start a race at Atlanta.

Nationwide series notes
— In the 20 NNS races at Atlanta, only four drivers have won from the pole, most recently 2007 series champion Carl Edwards last season.
— Idaho native Brian Scott will make his 100th career start in the NNS this weekend. Scott made his series debut at Nashville Superspeedway in April of 2009 and since then has earned five top fives, 18 top 10s and one pole. Scott currently sits ninth in the series championship point standings. NCWTS driver and Texas native James Buescher will attempt to make his 50th NNS start this weekend.
— The National Rifle Association will honor military heroes Jason Amerine and Greg Stube this weekend. Amerine is a lieutenant colonel from Honolulu, Hawaii. Stube, a retired member of the U.S. Army Special Forces, hails from Long Beach, Calif. …
— Several NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers are participating in the NRA American Warrior 300 Nationwide race this weekend: Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick, Kasey Kahne, Kyle Busch, Scott Riggs, Joe Nemechek, Reed Sorenson and Sam Hornish Jr.

Truck series notes
— Previous Atlanta winners in the field are Todd Bodine, Kyle Busch and 2011 winner Ron Hornaday Jr. The trio has been the series’ most dominant on intermediate tracks. Busch has won 14 times with Bodine and Hornaday counting 12 victories apiece.
— NASCAR Drive For Diversity driver Kyle Larson, who finished 10th in his NCWTS debut at Kentucky Speedway earlier this summer, returns at Atlanta in Turner Motorsports’ No. 4 Chevrolet.
— Ross Chastain’s third-place finish at Bristol was his best in his 18th career NCWTS start. The Alva, Fla., driver ranks third in Sunoco Rookie of the Year points behind Ty Dillon and Gale.
— Max Gresham, whose hometown of Griffin, Ga., is a stone’s throw from Atlanta Motor Speedway, will make his first of five starts Friday in Eddie Sharp Racing’s No. 8 Chevrolet. …
— Aric Almirola has been tapped to drive Richie Wauters’ No. 5 Ford this week.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home