Blogs > Nascar: Beyond the Track

Find out what's really going on in NASCAR. Look here to find out why your driver really lost his ride, or the real reason those two drivers can't stand each other. Learn about the hidden motives and reasons for the things that happen in NASCAR, from the drivers to the team owners.

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Fans can interact with drivers at this week's NASCAR Acceleration Weekend in Charlotte

NASCAR Acceleration Weekend will be a festival-like experience for NASCAR fans of all ages, featuring drivers and legends, unique interactive experiences and more.

The weekend’s activities commence with the 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Friday, followed by NASCAR Preview 2012 Presented by Sprint on Saturday, where fans can interact with the sport’s legends and current stars, get autographs, participate in Q&A sessions and games, and get a sneak peek at the upcoming season.

NASCAR Acceleration Weekend culminates Sunday as the inductee spires and exhibits are enshrined for the first time in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Fans can visit to purchase a combo ticket package that includes entry into both the NASCAR Hall of Fame and NASCAR Preview 2012 for $20. Admission for children under five-years-old is FREE.

Top NASCAR drivers and legends, 2012 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductees and current NASCAR Hall of Famers

Friday, January 20 - Sunday, January 22, 2012

NASCAR Hall of Fame and Charlotte Convention Center

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS (times subject to change):

— 4 p.m. – Storytelling event with 2010 and 2011 Inductees (NASCAR Hall of Fame Great Hall)
— 4:30-5:30 p.m. – Red Carpet Photo Opportunity (NASCAR Hall of Fame Great Hall)
— 7:30-10 p.m. – Induction Ceremony (Crown Ballroom) (**Credentialed media only**)
— 10-11 p.m. (approx.) – Post-Induction Inductee Media Interviews (Rooms 211 & 212)

— 7-9 a.m. – Junior Johnson breakfast with fans (NASCAR Hall of Fame Great Hall)
— 9 a.m-5 p.m. – NASCAR Preview 2012 Presented by Sprint (Charlotte Convention Center)
— Driver autograph and Q & A sessions (see schedule below). Wristbands for autograph sessions will be distributed starting at 7 a.m. on a first-come, first-served basis.
— NASCAR legends leading fan tours throughout the day (departs from Main Stage)
— Junior Johnson (10 a.m.), Ned Jarrett (11 a.m.), Richard Petty (Noon), Bud Moore (2 p.m.), Bobby Allison (3 p.m.) and Darrell Waltrip (4 p.m.)
— 9:45 a.m. – NASCAR Foundation – Presentation of 2012 plans
— 10:30 a.m. – Unveiling of 2012 Miss Sprint Cup lineup
— 1-2 p.m. – DuPont press conference with Jeff Gordon and Richard Petty (NASCAR Hall of Fame Great Hall)
— 1:15 p.m. – American Ethanol announcement with Kenny Wallace
— 2:30-2:45 p.m. – Unveiling of NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion exhibit with Tony Stewart (NASCAR Hall of Fame)
— 5-7 p.m. – “Evening of Living History”: Inductees and legends sharing stories from their exhibits (NASCAR Hall of Fame)
— Bobby Allison, Cale Yarborough and Donnie Allison (1979 Daytona 500 Exhibit)
— Darrell Waltrip and Jeff Hammond (Mountain Dew Car in the Great Hall)
— Ned Jarrett and Bondy Long (Hall of Honor)
— Junior Johnson and Tom Higgins (Moonshine Still)
— Glen and Leonard Wood (No. 21 Car)
— Dale Inman and Bud Moore (Inspection exhibit)
· Sunday
— 9:30-10:30am – First Look of 2012 Inductee exhibits and Granite Marker Photo Opportunity (NASCAR Hall of Fame Garden), Presentation of Lifetime Membership (Belk High Octane Theater Lobby)


Convention Center Ballroom:
9:15 -11:15 a.m. – Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth
10:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. – Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson
11:45 a.m. - 1:45 p.m. – Kevin Harvick, Brad Keselowski
12:15 - 2:15 p.m. – Greg Biffle
12:30 - 2:30 p.m. – Kasey Kahne, Ryan Newman
2:45 - 4:45 p.m. – Dale Earnhardt Jr., Juan Pablo Montoya
3:15 - 5:15 p.m. – Kurt Busch, Carl Edwards, Tony Stewart

Exhibit Hall:
— 9 - 11 a.m. – AJ Allmendinger, Jeff Burton, Bobby Labonte, Joey Logano, Mark Martin, Jamie McMurray, Casey Mears, David Ragan, Justin Allgaier, Jeffrey Earnhardt, Timmy Hill, Blake Koch, Travis Pastrana, Timothy Peters
— 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. – Aric Almirola, Marcos Ambrose, Clint Bowyer, Paul Menard, Regan Smith, Trevor Bayne, Brian Scott, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Brad Sweet, Cale Gale, Justin Lofton, Todd Peck
— 12:30 - 2:30 p.m. – Michael Annett, Elliott Sadler, Mike Wallace, Dakoda Armstrong, Johnny Sauter, Parker Kligerman, Brian Keselowski, Michael Waltrip, Jason Leffler, Todd Bodine
— 2:30 - 4:30 p.m. – Danica Patrick, Martin Truex Jr., Austin Dillon, Morgan Shepherd, Kenny Wallace, Joey Coulter, Ty Dillon, Brendan Gaughan, Tim George Jr., Max Gresham


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home